Deepening Democracy through Access to Information
R/€ = 15.57 Change: 0.06
R/$ = 13.90 Change: 0.04
Au 1425.75 $/oz Change: -13.41
Pt 849.36 $/oz Change: -6.08
Deepening Democracy through Access to Information
R/€ = 15.57 Change: 0.06
R/$ = 13.90 Change: 0.04
Au 1425.75 $/oz Change: -13.41
Pt 849.36 $/oz Change: -6.08

DA: Mmusi Maimane, Address by DA Leader, at a press briefing in Parliament, Cape Town (05/06/19)

5th June 2019

Today, I am proud to announce the DA’s new Shadow Cabinet. This diverse group of MPs - comprising of talented South Africans from all walks of life - will hold national government accountable for the exercise of their powers, while putting forward fresh ideas and credible alternatives to the plans and policies of national government.

The people of South Africa re-elected the DA as the country’s Official Opposition in this 6thParliament, and we do not take this privilege and responsibility for granted. We will work each and every day to ensure that this Parliament works for the people. We will do so by committing to:


Fulfil our constitutional mandate, in terms of Chapter 4 of the Constitution, to hold every exercise of public power by the National Executive to account. Through motions, oral and written questions, and persistent work in parliamentary committees, we will not allow the ruling party to relegate Parliament to a toothless lapdog of the executive;

Oppose damaging legislation, regulations and government policy that does not have the best interests of the nation at heart; and


Propose credible, workable and implementable alternatives before Parliament, including policy papers, alternative budgets, and Private Members Bills.

Our work will focus on an Agenda for Reform. The most pressing of these is the need for urgent economic reform. In this light, we will use Parliament to table our Jobs Bill and Cheaper Energy Bill, focus on city-led economic growth, fight for labour legislation reform, oppose any changes to the Reserve Bank independence and mandate, propose alternatives to the current State Owned Entity (SOE) ownership framework, propose alternatives to the current Mining Charter, and oppose threats to the economy and fiscus such as NHI and expropriation of property and land without compensation.

It is with this that I present to you the DA’s Shadow Cabinet:

 MinistryShadow MinisterShadow Deputy Minister

The Minister in the PresidencySolly MalatsiGhaleb Cachalia

The Ministry in the Presidency: Women, Youth and Persons with DisabilitiesLuyolo MphithiNazley Sharif

The Ministry of Justice and Correctional ServicesAdv. Glynnis BreytenbachWerner Horn

The Ministry of Public Service and AdministrationLeon SchreiberMichelle Clarke

The Ministry of Defence and Military VeteransKobus MaraisMaliyakhe Shelembe

The Ministry of Home AffairsJoe McGluwaAngel Khanyile

The Ministry of State SecurityDianne Kohler BarnardDr Mimmy Gondwe

The Ministry of PoliceAndrew WhitfieldOkkie Terblanche

The Ministry of Trade and IndustryDean MacphersonMathew Cuthbert

The Ministry of FinanceGeordin Hill-LewisDr Dion George

The Ministry of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural DevelopmentAnnette SteynThandeka Mbabama

The Ministry of Human Settlements, Water and SanitationLeon BassonEmma Powell

The Ministry of Basic EducationNomsa MarchesiDesiree van der Walt

The Ministry of HealthSiviwe GwarubeLindy Wilson

The Ministry of International Relations and CooperationDarren BergmanMergan Chetty

The Ministry of Higher Education, Science and TechnologyProf. Belinda BozzoliBaxolile Nodada

The Ministry of Environment, Forestry and FisheriesJames LorimerHannah Winkler

The Ministry of TransportChris HunsingerThami Mabhena

The Ministry of Mineral Resources and EnergyKevin MilehamCheryl Phillips

The Ministry of Social DevelopmentBridget MasangoThandi Mpambo - Sibukhwane

The Ministry of Public EnterprisesNatasha MazzoneErik Marais

The Ministry of Sports, Arts and CultureTsepo MhlongoVeronica Van Dyk

The Ministry of Employment and LabourDr Michael CardoMichael Bagraim

The Ministry of Public Works and InfrastructurePatricia KopaneSamantha Graham

The Ministry of Small Business DevelopmentZakhele MbheleHenro Kruger

The Ministry of Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsHaniff HoosenCilliers Brink

The Ministry of Communications and TelecommunicationsPhumzile Van DammeCameron Mackenzie

The Ministry of TourismManny De FreitasHlanganani Gumbi

SCOPAAlf LeesBenedicta Van Minnen

SCOAGPhillip De LangeEleanore Bouw-Spies

AppropriationsDenis JosephAshor Sarupen


This Shadow Cabinet will officially meet every fortnight. The purpose of these meetings will be to discuss the upcoming legislative agenda; to deliberate on new policies, debates, and motions; and to table any other matters.

I am confident that our Shadow Cabinet possesses the requisite skills, experience and expertise to bring forward innovative alternatives to move our country forward. Comprising of youth and experience, academics and activists, orators and operators - I am proud to lead this Shadow Cabinet.

We are ready to roll up our sleeves and get to work in furthering the cause of democracy and fighting for a future South Africa that belongs to all. 

EDITED BY: Creamer Media Reporter